Lent 2014 – 9: The Simple Power of Words

I have worked in the customer service industry for 14 years and, if you can imagine it, it isn’t as glamorous as you might think.  People are often rude, nasty, inconsiderate, and entitled.  But every now and then, you get a customer/member who makes your day, even if it is only because they actually looked you in the eyes when they were talking to you.  Which is part of the reason why I love sending letters or emails to company like the one I sent yesterday.  I was thrilled to see that I received the following response:

“Hi Erin,

Ha!  Alright, I’ll take care of that for you.  It should be taken care of now. Please don’t hesitate to contact me again.

Here’s hoping that your membership brings you many more opportunities to write such memorable monologues, hopefully for more positive reasons.”

 

So did I change his life?  No.  But I think it’s safe to say that I did, at least, make him smile.  So the next time that you are out shopping, take a second and remember that the sales rep you are annoyed with, the barista who isn’t making your drink fast enough, or the cashier who pushed cash instead of check are all people just like you, and it wouldn’t hurt if you treated them as such. 

Until tomorrow…..

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt Beulah
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 18:51:33

    Such a great story you told in your last two posts. You had fun and brightened someone else’s day, and what could be better than that? (Except, maybe, not being allergic to bananas.) I’ve long believed that you receive what you give—a less clever way of saying what you said, that words have power.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

