Lent 2014 -10: God Used My Lunch as a Tax Deduction

I ran out of my house today to grab some food in between doing laundry, dishes, and trying to get packed up to go visit a friend.  I ran into Subway, because who doesn’t love a freshly made sub for an affordable price, ordered my meal and made my way to the register.  The young lady gave me my total, $7.21, I opened my wallet to pull out my debit card and realized that it was not in there.  I went through those initial moments of panic as my brain struggled to remember when and where I last used my card.  I calmed down relatively quickly when I remembered that I had used it to purchase gas the night before.  So, I now knew where my debit card was, but I was faced with a new problem since I had a sandwich that was made especially for me and I had no way of paying for it. 

In an act of desperation, I started going through my entire wallet in the hopes that I would find some random money that I had forgotten about. In these days of debit and credit cards, cash is something that I almost never have on me.  Also, in the event that someone does steal my wallet one day, I secretly hope that they will do a better job with my credit than I have.  So I looked in each compartment (for my male readers just know that women LOVE compartments and our wallets and purses have plenty of them) and to my amazement I found $7.21!!!

As I handed the cashier my money, a cashier who was not nearly as impressed as I was, I found myself thinking, what are the odds?  What are the odds that I would have the exact amount of money I needed exactly when I needed it?  I realized that that is what faith is, that is what God is, believing that you will have exactly what you need exactly when you need it.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t really think that the Big Guy stepped in on this one and paid for my lunch, but if He did, I’m sure He would write it off as a business expense.  What I am saying is that this entire situation is really just a metaphor for the bigger picture of life.  We never truly go without; it’s just that we have conflicting ideas of what we NEED versus what we WANT.  When we are able to take a step back and truly asses our needs we will see that they are always met. 

I know that there are some of you who will disagree with this and say, well how does that apply to the homeless person or to the person who is drowning in debt and I will tell you that I don’t know.  I don’t know because I have no way of knowing what is in that person’s heart.  We all live in these self-imposed prisons that prevent us from fully receiving the gifts that are waiting for us.  We may fight every day to make ends meet without realizing that we don’t have to struggle so much.  If we take responsibility for our actions, drive a hard line between our wants and our needs, and accept that we will always be provided for, we will see that the path to making ends meet isn’t nearly as long or as hard as we once thought it to be. 

Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

