Lent 2014 – 13: There is Beauty to Be Found in Sadness

But there is also sadness to be found in beauty. I attempted to draw a venn diagram to add to my post today, but my computer wouldn’t cooperate. I am confident that you all remember what a venn diagram is though, at least two overlapping circles where they each have their own unique traits, but then share similar traits at the points where they overlap. As I drove from Detroit back home to Cleveland tonight, I couldn’t help but think about the venn diagram that is my life. The one circle is my life in Cleveland and the other circle is my life in Detroit. Both lives are valid and unique and something worth holding onto, but every now and then I wish that I could make the circles overlap just a little bit more.
For as long as I can remember I have always sought out my own adventures. I have never waited around to see if someone would join me because life is too short and I didn’t want to miss out on something just because I had to go alone. And, for as long as I can remember, this mentality has served me well. There are, as I was reminded tonight, some serious drawbacks though. As I drove down the Ohio Turnpike the moon began to make her ascension into the night sky. As first, as I caught a glimpse through passing trucks, I thought I was seeing the top of a building or water tower. But as she continued her climb I was struck by her commanding presence and her beautiful orange hue that could make a sunset jealous. Since I was driving east, it appeared that the moon was rising directly over the turnpike. I found myself mesmerized by the unfiltered beauty of it all. I felt the breath catch in my chest in one of those rare moments when you are so moved by something that you almost want to cry. And then I felt the darkness set in; the darkness that is the inevitable loneliness I feel when I realize that I have no one to share this experience with.
The funny thing though, is that I didn’t just want something to “ooh” and “ahh” with, I wanted to know that I wasn’t the only person seeing this gift. I wanted to know that someone else appreciated all of the beauty that God shares with the world. I wanted to know that I wasn’t alone. But… maybe that was His way of telling me that I wasn’t.

Until tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

