Lent 2014 – 18: Finding Inspiration In Others

I spent a good portion of this last weekend reading blogs from other writers.  The truth is that I didn’t always read other blogs.  Sure, I read my friends, but why would I read a strangers? I’m sure they wouldn’t interest me.  That was my arrogance speaking, of course.  So this weekend I thought, well gosh darn it, I’m going to start reading a new blogs.  I have to say, what I have found has been touching, moving, and inspiring.  The one that has moved me the most and has made me feel like a bit of a stalker is written by a woman named Leigh.  Leigh has a young son and was told that she may only have a few years to live.  She started her blog so that she could share everything she wants to  share with her son in case she isn’t around to do it.  

For those of you who have kids, I’m sure you can imagine more than I can how heartbreaking it must be to confront this as a reality and not as simply a fear that you may have from time to time.  I think she is a great writer and she has an awful lot to say.  It is sad when you remember why she is writing all this, but try to push that aside for the moment and read her letters to her son, Loch.  She is asking herself a lot of questions about what she really wants for her son and how she wants him to be raised, which most people would never fully consider because they assume that they will be there whenever the time comes.  Take a moment, read a bit, send her some healing thoughts and send out some gratitude for your good health, if you are fortunate enough to have it.  

Check her out: 

http://incaseimgone.com/

Leave a Reply

