50 Adventures and Things to Do

Two weeks ago I walked into the bookstore looking for inspiration.  I needed motivation.  I needed direction.  I was feeling stagnant and I needed something to jump start me to get me going again and back on the right track.  I went to the “Self Help” section and was pleasantly surprised to see that they have renamed it the “Personal Growth” section.  I think that is much more fitting, after all, there is such a stigma with self-help, or any help for that matter.

As I looked over the spines and read the titles, I couldn’t seem to find what I was looking for.  I was about to walk out when a small colorful book caught my eye.  It wasn’t a book on how to handle stress, how to plan better, live better, organize better.  It was a book of sparks on how to live.  And that’s when I realized that that is exactly what I was looking for.  I needed something to remind me to get back to living.  I have gotten so caught up in working all day long.  Work, sleep, work, sleep, work, sleep.  It’s entirely exhausting and unfulfilling.  So I bought the book and the journal and I’m ready to get back to living.

I’m on vacation for the next week and I thought that this would be a good way to start.  I am a planner and a list maker, so I decided to make a list of “50 Things to do and Adventures to Have”.  Some of them are just everyday things that need to get done, but some of them are story makers just waiting to happen.    So… let the adventures begin.

  1. Pay Bills
  2. Do Laundry
  3. Read an entire book just for pleasure.
  4. Finish D’s mermaid blanket.
  5. Update my blog.
  6. Visit the Christmas Story House.
  7. Edit half of B’s book.
  8. Oktoberfest with my bros.
  9. Ride the Cuyahoga Valley Railroad.
  10. Get my Conceal Carry Permit.
  11. Make dandelion wine.
  12. Make a plan.
  13. Write out goal cards for work.
  14. Go geocaching.
  15. Bake bread.
  16. Experience a sensory deprivation pod.
  17. Look up the symphony schedule.
  18. Go to the art museum.
  19. Go to a cosmetology school for a haircut.
  20. Write a letter to my old best friend.
  21. Work on vision board.
  22. Get a pedicure.
  23. Clean out car.
  24. Make a trip to Costco.
  25. Doctor’s appointment.
  26. Write work schedules for the rest of the year.
  27. Finance task.
  28. Set up spending card.
  29. Make road trip goodie bags.
  30. Dinner with S.
  31. Plan a party.
  32. Talk with T.
  33. Halloween plans.
  34. Make a debt tracker goal chart.
  35. Mow the lawn, finally.
  36. Prime Ikea drawers.
  37. Call J.
  38. Brunch with L.
  39. Spend time at the park.
  40. Bake chocolate chip cookies.
  41. Per D’s suggestion, make some fancy kitty cat collars.
  42. Go kayaking on the river.
  43. House task.
  44. House task.
  45. House task.
  46. Clean out work binder.
  47. Work two shifts with the Red Cross.
  48. House task.
  49. Personal task.
Leave a Reply

